
Game Tigris and Euphrates

Players & Time 3-4. Best with 4. 

Preparation Choose the basic map (the font of “Tigris and Euphrates” on the map is yellow). 
Put a temple (red tile) on each of the squares with a flying horse looking dude. 
Also put a gold on each one of these temples. 
Everyone takes the leaders (red circles) of their type indicated by the image on the circles. Each 
player should have 4 different-colored leader. 
Each player takes a screen, two catastrophe tiles, and a marker for their dynasty.
All civilization (colored) tiles are put into the bag. Players draw 6 tiles at random and put them 
behind their screen to hide them. 
Assemble the monuments and put them to the side: there should be a monument for each color 
combination for base and arch.  
Randomly determine a starting player. 

Rules Summary Tigris & Euphrates is a turn-based game where players are trying to build diverse kingdoms. 

On each turn, players have exactly 2 actions. Each action can be one of any of the following, and 
the same action can be taken twice. There is no order to the actions taken. At the end of a player's 
turn, they draw enough tiles to have 6. 

Action – Position (Place, move, or remove) a leader: One of the player's leaders (wooden circles) 
can be placed onto the board in one of the empty positions adjacent* to a temple (red tile) face-up. 
For a leader to remain on the board it must always be adjacent to a temple (red tile). A leader can 
never be placed such that it unites two kingdoms** and can never be placed on a river. Re-
positioning a leader simply moves the leader from one position on the board to another; the same 
rules and restrictions apply. Removing a leader brings the leader back off the board in front of the 
player who owns that leader. Positioning or moving leaders may cause internal conflicts. See 
below. 

Action - Placing a Civilization Tile: A player may play a civilization tile on an open space on the 
board, with some restrictions. Blue civ tiles can only be placed on rivers; other tiles cannot be 
placed on rivers. No tiles can be placed on any space that has a catastrophe tile. Normally (unless 
this tile unites two kingdoms), if there is a leader in a region that corresponds to the color of the tile 
being placed, then the owner of that leader gets a point in that color (small wooden cube***). 

A number of things can happen after a civ tile is put down. If the tile unites two kingdoms, the 
owner of the leader does not collect a point as usual. If the kingdoms being united now contain two 
leaders of the same color, this causes an external conflict; use a “unifying tile” over the tile that 
unites the two kingdoms while looking for and resolving conflicts, when done remove it). If the tile 
being placed makes a 4th tile in a 2x2 array of a single color, these 4 tiles can then be flipped over 
and used to build a monument. If, after placing a tile, the kingdom is connected to two tiles with 
treasure on them and a trader (green) leader is in the kingdom, that owner of that leader can take 
one of those treasures. Note: if one of the treasures is a corner treasure, it must be taken first. 

Action - Playing a Catastrophe Tile: A player may play a catastrophe tile on any space on the 
board that does not have a treasure on it nor is part of a monument. This space is treated as void: it 
no longer exists. If this tile was a temple, it might make leader(s) adjacent to it no longer in valid 
spaces in which case it/they would be returned to their owner. 

Action - Swap up to 6 tiles: A player can swap up to 6 tiles ;-) 

Building Monuments: When a 2x2 array of a single color is built, the player placing the last tile 
may decide to flip over the four tiles and build a monument. One of the colors in the monument 
(base or arch) must correspond to the color of the tiles that were flipped. At the end of a player's 
turn, for each leader that is in a kingdom contains a the monument that matches one of the colors of 
the monument's base or arch collects a point in that color. Note: the base tiles of the monument no 
longer count as tiles of the specific color. 



Internal Conflicts: Internal conflicts occur when a player positions a leader in a kingdom that 
already has a leader of the same color. To resolve the conflict, the attacker and defender add up 
their strength. The base strength for each player is the number of temple (red) tiles adjacent to the 
conflicting leader they own. Then, the attacker puts up (uses) a number of red tiles which increase 
the strength of the attack by one each. The defender then decides whether or not to use temple (red) 
tiles to defend. Ties are broken in favor of the defender. The used tiles are discarded (removed from 
the game, not back into the bag). The losing player must remove the leader in conflict. The winning 
player gets to keep the space and gets 1 red point. 

External Conflicts: External conflicts occur when a two kingdoms are united by a civilization tile 
and there are conflicting leaders (leaders of the same color) in the new big kingdom. If there is 
more than one conflict, the active player decides which ones are resolved first. If the active player 
is involved in the conflict, they are the attacker, otherwise the attacker is the closest one to the 
active player in clockwise turn order. The base strength for each is the number of tiles in the 
respective original kingdoms of the color that match the conflicting leaders. The attacker first puts 
up (uses) a number of tiles in the same color as the external conflict. Then, the defender does the 
same. Ties are broken in favor of the defender. The loser removes their leader and all the civ tiles in 
the losing original kingdom of the corresponding color – these tiles are removed from the game. 
The winner gets to keep his leader on the board, civ tiles in that color, and gets 1 point per tile and 
leader that the loser lost! (Those points are in the color that match the tiles and leader.)

End & Winner The game ends at the end of a player's turn when there is only 1 or 2 treasures left 
on the board or immediately if there are no more tiles in the bag when required to 
refresh a hand. 

The winner is the player with the highest number of points in their weakest color 
(treasures count as wild points). 

Tie-breaker is second weakest color. 

Notes * Adjacent in T&E means one of the 4 surrounding squares, excluding diagonals. 
** In T&E a region is group of connected tiles and leaders (not by diagonals). A kingdom is a 
region with at least one leader adjacent to one of the temple tiles in a region.
*** The large wooden cubes are worth 5 points and can be exchanged any time the smaller points 
run out. 
**** A civ tile may never unite more than 2 kingdoms! Placing a civ tile that does is not allowed. 


